Life is like a journey by bus, folks!

This blogpost has loads of Hindi thrown in. And I am not in a mood to translate. You’ll know why… Read on!

I am going to offload all the love I possess for the public transport in Delhi NCR.

“Love for the public transport”? You must have formed an opinion that I am not in my senses, right? Because which right minded person says something as obnoxious as this. Haha, well! You’re about to read a love saga now…
The story starts in 2011, when after getting through the sucky twelfth standard board examinations, I had enrolled myself in Delhi University, for the English (Hons, mind you!) course. And my college happened to be in the North Campus, approximately 40 kilometers from where I put up, that is Faridabad. Call it a part of Haryana/Delhi NCR, I don’t care a tuppence about it. Now, prior to this, I had never used public transport (Let me clarify, when I write public transport, I mean bus, autorickshaw, rickshaw and the metro train).
So, one fine day, say, a week before the session started, our ‘family electrician’ was carrying out some repair work in my room, and it was then that my father tells me- “You’ll have to use the bus, at least to reach the nearest metro station,” which at that time was Badarpur. And I blurted out thoughtlessly-“ But only poor people travel in buses.” To which my dad gave me a ‘that was an insensitive reply, shut up’ look. I had forgotten the presence of the third person. Anyway, I shrugged my shoulders and carried on reading a novel, thinking it to be a joke my dad had pulled on me. The electrician was sizing me up. Goes without saying, he was thinking of me as a petty, arrogant child. I, on the other hand, wasn’t remotely bothered on being judged.
It turned out that my father was indeed serious. Both my parents are working, so obviously, they couldn’t afford to waste time to drop me off to Badarpur, wasting 40 minutes daily in the process. So, grudgingly, I had to travel by the bus, after all. Initially, it was very confusing and scary. I couldn’t understand why people got excited on seeing a bus and rushed ahead, ready to jostle and crush others in the process. Getting a seat was not the goal, rather, getting a place to stand was! I now understood that look I saw on people, while traveling by car. It was wrought with exhaustion and anger. How did I gauge that, you ask? That’s because I had that same look on my face by the end of the first week. It was almost like an existential crisis for me. Why am I here, Why did God do this to me, Why the hell isn’t the state extending  the metro line. Bloody buggers. Why did I even bother to bath? (this, because, I would be covered in sweat within an hour, all the while smelling the side waale uncleji’s armpit. Ugh, I know!) So, the first month was disastrous. The only saving grace was the presence of so many girls, who were travelling to DU daily, struggling like me. And that gave me strength.
Now, it was very, very confusing initially, identifying the difference between various buses. Since Faridabad is a part of Haryana, we had Haryana Roadways buses plying on the road too. A blessing, indeed. Why? Well, because of the erratic bus schedules, when at least the DTC isn’t arriving on time, you have an alternative. Now both DTC and HR ply two kinds of buses- AC and Non AC. The red Volvo and Blue buses are the AC ones of HR, while the white and blue buses are obviously the non AC ones. DTC is a tad more color conscious. Green buses are Non AC, while deep red ones are AC buses. People who are  little concerned about saving money often travelled in the non AC ones, but I always waited for the AC ones. Reason? The crowd wasn’t unruly and you would be saved from the scorching heat. My daddy, who was sweet enough to drop me off to the bus stop early morning, would wait with me in the car until I got one. Super lucky I am, I know! For a lecture at 8.40, I used to reach the bus top by 6.30. And that went on for three years.

20160505_172406.jpg

Now, I personally disliked the HR AC buses only for one reason- because their interiors were a little dingy. I felt claustrophobic when I had the seat in the back portion. They have these three seats in the middle portion, which are plain weird. It’s like a flap. You push them up when you got to sit and carefully put them back when getting up, trying not hasten, as your ass might get stuck in between. Caution is a pre requisite as the moment you wriggle out of it, it shuts with a bang. No, not a pretty sight for others around. Right? Haha! And taking things to an all time low, whenever I took their red volvo, some child puked his guts out inside, and you can imagine how the journey must be, with all the fragrance around. And listening to the sleazy haryanvi songs right in the morning was another drawback. Well, the driver rules the bus, yaar! Toh music bhi usi ki choice ka hoga naa?
But but but, inspite of that, HR is the boss! No contestations regarding that. I’ve been part of the road races between DTC and HR, with passengers cheering up for their respective buses. And the clear winner would be HR. If anyone was running late for work/college, they would hop onto the HR, without any second thoughts. My favorite seat was right behind the driver. You could feel the thrill every damn time he would maneuver in style on a treacherous spot on road, when you were certain that an accident was bound to happen. And what speed! God! They are called pilots, not drivers, mind ya! Even the window is named ‘pilot window’, you see. 😀

Haryana-Roadways-Volvo-Bues-Service

Luxury, I see. Haha! source- http://www.projectsjugaad.com

One more thing I loved about the HR bus was that the conductor would personally come up to your seat for the ‘ticket kataoing session’, unlike the DTC bus conducters, the brutes who would seat themselves on the throne right next to the back door, on the upper portion of the bus. Then came into the picture the helpful bhartiya nature. An individual standing near the driver would safely get his ticket, without moving an inch, courtesy the ‘money paas kardo, ticket mil jayegi wahi’ trick. Haha, super efficient it was. The HR conductor and driver duo have a great bond and an even greater sense of humor. If you can remotely understand the Haryanvi humor they indulge in, you’ll have the ride of your life. HR never gave me a dull moment.

download (1)

The AC Haryana Roadways Bus. Tough looks, haan?

DTC was liked because it was spacious (at least, I felt so!) and bright. And cleaner too. HR could certainly do with a little more cleanliness. But I always avoided the dirt by sitting in the front seat. They are the best. Traveling by bus made me realize that no two days are the same. Sometimes, you will get the bus right when you step at the bus stop and that too, an empty bus, with you spoilt for choice, as to which seat to take. While, other days could see you waiting for over an hour for the bus to arrive, with no space to breath in it. It forces you to be patient and positive. And I personally passed time observing people around. I never stood on the bus stop, with earphones plugged into my ears as I wanted to be alert all the time, being a solo traveler. Smart choice, huh?

IMG-20160425-WA0002

The sight of this Red DTC bus gave me thrills for over four years. Big deal. Remember! Life is a race. Run, or you won’t grab a seat, bwoy! 😛

Traffic jams are just your bad luck. Yes. And though, DTC has seats reserved for the oldies, ladies, differently abled citizens, you don’t expect people to stand up for them. It’s pathetic, but true. As a woman traveler, I had to be strong. I have encountered eve teasers, been groped, heard pathetic comments from unruly male passengers and even encountered drunk passengers, but remained strong. Have the police helpline no. ready with you (and the pepper spray too!). Unless you’re absolutely lucky, the conductor and the driver would intervene and help you out. Though, personally, I never saw them doing this for any woman. Sad, I know!
But even sadder is the amount of ticket less passengers travelling in the buses. Guys, the govt is running these AC buses for you. And they require great maintenance. I have often encountered students doing so, and it felt pathetic seeing them shirking from their duty as a responsible citizen. I once saw these two aunties boarding the crowded bus. One was willing to buy the ticket and the other dissuaded her from doing so, saying that nobody would notice. I was standing right next to them. I gave that bad aunty a very demeaning look, with ‘shame on you, you bitch’ written all over my face, along with the disgust shining through. Guess she must have felt ashamed, and went ahead to request the conductor for a ticket. So, safe to assume that, there’s no need to shout and complain, if looks can kill the criminal. What say? 😉

20160412_101243.jpg

Now now, I know I bragged about being a patient woman, happily waiting for the bus in the sardi, garmi, baarish season, all year round. But the truth is, even I ran out of patience at times. I broke this rule once of never running after a bus once. I was waiting at the bus stop near New Friends Colony once. And after an hour, I spot this red DTC coming. I waved my long hand furiously to make it stop, so did an old uncle next to me. But the bus refused to stop and went ahead. I was furious! Quickly, I looked at the timer on the crossing and realized in the next 5 seconds, it’s going to be a red light, and the bus would have to stop. I ran after the bus, assuring the uncle to follow safely and slowly, for the road was choc a bloc with cars speeding dangerously. And after nearing the bus, I banged the doors loudly and shouted on the conductor, who immediately had them opened. I climbed in after the old uncleji, who by that time was panting. It was too much an exercise for him. But he turned out to be a pro! After having admonished the driver and conductor for refusing to stop even after he and the ‘bitiya’ signaled them to, he asked for the complaint register. And wrote a full fledged complaint, inspite of the conductor (who was shivering with fear at that moment) requesting him not to do so. That was one moment of enlightenment for me. I never knew such a thing existed. It pays to be well informed about all the rules and regulations of the transport corporation, when you travel in the buses.
Now, let me share the most quirky journeys I undertook in these years. The first one was when I took the bus at 8 pm from ISBT stand, which is near the north campus. I was attending my first ever college fest with a friend from another department accompanying me. We decided it was an intelligent option to take the bus straight from Kashmere Gate and de board at Faridabad, rather than get off at Badarpur and wait for the bus there. (Badarpur still occupies a place of pride in the list of the most unsafe places in Delhi.) And I’m talking about the year 2012, when the ISBT was not revamped. (I still don’t know how it looks like, post the beautification. Though, I guess, I must give it the benefit of doubt. Hah!). And the path from the metro exit gate (near Mc Donalds) and the bus stop on the opposite side of the main road (where we had to use the foot over bridge) was nearly 2 kms. We had to ward off all those shady men cropping up from nowhere, with their unsteady voices chorusing- “Madam, Dehradun/Haridwar chalogi? AC gaadi hai.” Super scary, I know! Anyway, we managed to reach the stop safely and boarded the bus which arrived in about five minutes (thankfully!). We entered the bus only to find no other female passenger. Haha, God made sure we had an amazingly quirky journey that day. My father was in Punjab for some work, and mom was cool enough to hide the details of my adventure from him. Hahaha! But guess what, I never had the enthusiasm to attend another fest season again. I guess the first experience was more than enough for me. 😀
Coming to the second journey, it was in the winter mornings (early January), when the new session started. I remember taking buses in pitch dark. It was (teeth clatteringly) magical to view the sunrise in the bus daily for the entire month. And unfortunately, the first lecture was always taken by my favorite professor, and I avoided missing any of those for some extra minutes of sleep. No sir, not at all.
The third and the funniest was when an irritating conductor was taught a lesson. He was almost lunging at every male passenger’s throat for threatening him with shouts of ‘AC chalade theek se’ and ‘Temperature kitna hai’ and lastly, ‘Fan kaun chalwayega, hum paise dete hain in sab suveedhao ke, samjha?!’. Haha, us Indians naa! Anyway, just as the abuse match was about to start, a group of transgenders came aboard. The conductor greeted them with the angry and usual crack of ‘ticket katwa lo’. They laughed amongst themselves, and climbed the upper portion and encircled him, caressing him superficially, running their hands in mock lovey doveyness and repeatedly uttering- ‘hum to upar se hi kate hue aayein hain’ (sorry, don’t expect me to translate any of this for you. Just can’t). Needless to say, he was aghast at their remark, all the while struggling to relieve himself of their grip, his eyes popping out and moving in all directions for someone to help, but we all were busy giggling, viewing his predicament. Those transgenders were sweet, but for once, I felt amused at them not paying for their journey and how they traveled ticket less in style. The conductor was so shaken after that attempt to lutao his izzat, that he didn’t dare pester any other passenger for buying the ticket. Hahaha, it was one hilarious journey, to say the least.

20161207_115053.jpg

IMG-20160425-WA0000.jpg

Never traveled in this Orange DTC. Didn’t ply on my route. No regrets, though. Hahaha!

And oh yes, how could I forget that! The family electrician boarded the same bus as me one day, with his wife and kids in tow. On spotting me standing there, he took a double take, as if unable to believe my presence there. I smiled at him, laughing in my mind at the naïve, insensitive and foolish youngster that I was. And that day, I felt so grounded, wise and totally at ease with the life I had led, being a part of the DTC/HR family for about 4 years. Traveling by the public transport transformed me from a clueless, nervous and a pessimist woman into a confident, patient and an aware citizen.
And then Modiji arrived in style to inaugurate the metro rail services in Faridabad. And life was never the same, changing for the better, of course. But still, that meant my roller coaster journey with the bus was to end, with the suave, clean, hassle free and timely metro swiftly taking its place. The 5th of September was to be my last bus journey, and I wished to travel by both DTC and HR that day, so as to bid goodbye to both. And as luck would have it, I did get a chance to do that. 🙂

20160516_154556.jpg

Tickets of the last bus journey I undertook. 5th September 2015.

20160505_173456.jpg

The Delhi Metro and Autos- my new mode of journey

20160513_124248.jpg

The one thing I love about the Delhi Metro. Ladies Coach. ❤

 

20160713_074215
Even, today, while standing in the metro, I look down on the road, and spot a DTC bus, (I rarely come across HR buses nowadays, unless I’m travelling in the car on the Mathura road, that is) a smile automatically comes to my face. I no longer have travelling stress, (which made me lose 10 kgs in the first month of undergraduation!), but then, I have a host of good/bad experiences to cherish (and entertain people with) in my kitty. And I’m proud of it.
What gets me thinking is that all the fresh out of school kids would now travel by metro, not knowing the struggle their seniors (like me!) had to undergo in order to get an education (okay, ignore the bragging 😛 ). Life would be so easy for them, taking the laabh of metro rail suvidhaa, moving about like swashbucklers. Hahaha! Spiceless is what their travel journeys would be, no? And the other day, I see this piece of news in some national daily about the Delhi Government planning to launch premium air conditioned bus services. “It will be a fully air-conditioned premium bus in which no standing passengers will be allowed. There will be dedicated bus lanes so that the buses also reach their destination on time like the Metro.” Kejriwal ji, it would be a revolution if you deliver as promised. Then the mango people, or even the elites would happily embrace the bus services, not relating it to something which only poor people travel in. Hehe!

20160505_172352.jpg

CAR OR BUS? 😉

Leave a Reply

