Dear Future Husband

Dear Future Husband,
As I start writing this, I cannot fathom my mood. Really. Should I be giggling right now or should my face be scrunched with seriousness. As a typical Libran out to find harmony, constantly juggling with paradoxes, this is indeed normal, let me warn you.
Before I start offloading my mind, do listen to what Meghan Trainor crooned beautifully. The song starts something like this-
“Dear future husband
Here’s a few things
You’ll need to know if you wanna be
My one and only all my life…”

I have been looking for you ever since I gauged the concept of marriage and soul mates. Or let me put it this way, I have been trying to mould you up in my mind since forever. I don’t remember our last life together. Neither would you. That’s fine, I guess. Let God figure out how should we be meeting/bumping into/finding each other. For the time being, let’s find solace in the fact that we shall meet. Somewhere. Sometime. Eventually.
As you’ll know me eventually, I love the desert state. My grandmother, whom you shall only be introduced to through my lustrous memories and loose talks, belonged to the region. Everything, and I mean everything- be it their language, customs, attire, music, food and way of living attracted me. I was determined to marry a man from that state. My granny would laugh it off saying- “You little firefly, we keep a lot of fasts. Do you think you’ll be able to manage that?” This, because I am a foodie. And dreamy eyed, I would reply, “Yes, of course! I’ll eat the ghee laden food thereafter to regain my lost strength.” To which a series of guffaws would greet me. But now the 23yr old inside me brushes that innocence off. All you need to know is that even if you hail from the south, east or north, I’ll be just as fine with that prospect as I was with my earlier fantasy with the west.
Belonging to a family, wherein many of the men are in the armed forces, I had an early obsession with the men in uniform. I still do, perhaps. But I have wisened enough to understand that being married to someone’s profession leads you nowhere, for it’s the person who matters. Still, try and be a man in uniform. Hehe.
I am the kind of girl who grooved to Alisha Chinoy’s Made in India as a kid. Tall, dark and handsome men like Milind Soman were my choice. But now my standards of considering men handsome have altered drastically. I hope you possess an ease of manner, confidence, an endearing smile and a great sense of humor. Trust me, that’s enough to make me drool for you. And oh, yes! Everybody in my family is tall. They would prefer a 6’2” son-in-law for themselves. But even if you are six-ish, it’s cool. Hehehe.
Being a woman with an enormous sweet tooth, it’ll be nice if you could be my partner in crime, when I have my midnight cravings. And though I can’t claim to be an expert cook, I do cook great Halwa. I hope you’re tempted enough to find me now. Haha! But, hey! Do sign up for cooking lessons right now, if you are a hopeless cook. For when I lay my feet up, which shall be often, be a bumblebee and dish out delicious dishes for us, lover boy. Thanks in advance.
I did have a phase in my life when I was considering turning agnostic. Blame the fact that I was the typical English Hons student, out testing new waves in the sea. Haha! Well, that’s not the case now. I now stand a firm believer. And I am utterly secular. You can spot me at all holy shrines. The sufi shrine of Nizamuddin Auliya being my favourite and amongst the Hindu Gods, Shiva, the ascetic being my object of worship and study. As a god fearing person, I believe in the power of good over evil. And in the concept of karma. I have never indulged in unethical acts and I hope you have a clear conscience too. For let me warn you, if you indulge in ethically corrupt practices, I’ll be there to swerve you out of danger and bring you back on the right path. Be moral. And have patience and be content with all that you have. All I’ve gathered from my life on Earth is that everything happens for the best and we should find good in everything. For the Almighty loves you and all we both shall do is showcase our gratitude to him in plenty.
Not to sound snobbish, but I consider myself to be a beauty with brains. And accomplished too. So, it goes without saying, that I want you to be the same. Coming from a family wherein you’ll find army officers, professors, doctors, lawyers all around, I would want your family to match up to mine on that account. See, I would appreciate if you have an independent identity, free from the shadow of your parents. And an identity you’ve worked hard to achieve, not through sycophancy, luck or corruption. Please.
To add to that, I am the only child of my parents whose lived in a joint family. Pretty cool, haan? Yes, I agree. So, I am, you can say, the only child who confirms to many, if not all the stereotypes related to my kind. I am the apple of my parent’s eyes, I hate sharing, I love my me time. And I love reaching my destination by figuring things on my own. I am pampered. My mother would like to term it as “realistic pampering”, though. Haha!) So, I hope you are an only child too. Or an only son. Because, baby, I am bored of large families as of now and I love attention. Though that doesn’t mean I love solitude a tad too much and am a loner. Oh, when you know me, you’ll see I have a large group of friends who are so dear to me. And all of them are gems. Blessed I am, indeed, to find good souls to mingle with, wherever I go. So, I hope you are an outgoing person, with a good old group of chaps you call pals. I would love to be introduced to all of them, trust me on this.
Turning to the fun side, do promise me that we’ll zoom off to visit places all over our country every year. And enjoy/shop/wonder our  hearts out. I am an early riser who loves to sleep. So do join me for a walk every morning and snuggle with me when I hit the bed, noon or night. Oh, yes! I have a nasal allergy which crops up due to pretty much everything. And I am allergic to mangoes, love. Brace yourself for that.
They say, your father is a major inspiration for you when you look out for guys in this wide, wide world. I used to shove this line of thought off, until recently. For I’ve recently found out that if not all, I do have some habits/ traits of his which I would want you to possess. I hope you have a passion for driving, because I detest it. “My daddy strongest” was the tagline I used to swear by as a child. And my daddy was indeed, a sportsperson all throughout his salad days. He still is a fitness enthusiast. He is street smart, good at mathematics, a helpful soul. So please, match up to him in that field. Being a working couple, my parents have given me major relationship goals. Let’s outrun those. But please, don’t be too quiet or reserved, or a little moody, and unlike my daddy, please love taking pictures, of yourself, I mean. Haha! Coming back to the basics, do make me feel safe, loved and inspired like my parents do. But I know you’ll do that. No two ways about it. See, I trust you so much already. To finish my rant now, even if you are not a book worm, that’s okay. I’ll still love you. Just help me clean my bookshelf every week. That’s all I ask. Do care for my books, for they are your future adopted kids too. And please, please, bring in loads of your interests/hobbies into our life when we meet, for it’ll be exciting to be a part of all that.

Now, now, now, while I am still figuring out more of how you will have to be, you continue being you. Add on to your accomplishments. Work hard. Party hard. And wait for me. For I’m just around that corner. 😉

“This blogathon is supported by Woo, The most popular match making app in India with a base of over 3.5 million users.”

Leave a Reply

